Copland Quiet City*
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.3
Schumann Symphony No.2

Steven Osborne Piano
Mark O’keeffe Trumpet*
James HoranCorAnglais*
Andrew Manze Conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

The path of the artist can be lonely. Aaron Copland knew what it was to be alone in a great American city, and distilled it into haunting poetry. Robert Schumann drew strength from his beloved Clara, and the example of Beethoven, and wrote one of the noblest of all Romantic symphonies. The young Beethoven, meanwhile, introduced himself to his public in a piano concerto that positively sparkles with its own audacity. The masterly Scottish pianist Steven Osborne continues his Beethoven piano concerto cycle, while Andrew Manze proves that whether we’re in 20th century Manhattan or 18th century Vienna, the creative spirit will find a way.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room
Novelist Louise Welsh reads a specially written piece, which takes Quiet City as its starting point.

Post-Concert Coda (approximately 10 minutes after the main concert)
Steven Osborne plays selections from Prokofiev’s Visions Fugitives.