AjKernis Newly Drawn Sky (c.18′)
Grieg Piano Concerto (c.30′)
Shostakovich Symphony No.1 (c.31′)

Lars Vogt Piano
Donald Runnicles Conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

One summer evening Aaron Jay Kernis watched his children playing on Long Island’s Atlantic shore – and he heard Newly Drawn Sky. It’s both a gorgeously-tinted musical cloudscape and a very American hymn of hope in the future, lit by the same inner glow that gives Grieg’s youthful Piano Concerto its perennial freshness. Few pianists are better equipped than Lars Vogt to draw out the Concerto’s latent poetry, and it’s followed by one of the most extraordinary explosions of youthful energy in all 20th century music: the teenage Dmitri Shostakovich’s brilliant First Symphony. Donald Runnicles reveals both the boy-poet and the raspberry-blowing prankster behind this deliciously deadpan masterpiece.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room
Writer David Nice introduces the programme and discusses Shostakovich’s First Symphony.

There will be no coda after this concert.