Janáček Arr. TalichSuite:the Cunning Little Vixen (c.20′)
Dvořák Cello Concerto (c.40′)
Bartók Concerto For Orchestra (c.38′)

Joshua Roman Cello
Ilan Volkov Conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Richard Farnes who was to have conducted this concert is indisposed.   We are delighted that Ilan Volkov, the BBC SSO’s Principal Guest Conductor, is able to take his place – the programme remains unchanged.

It’s said that Dvořák drew inspiration for his Cello Concerto from Niagara Falls – and yet every note seems to yearn for his imminent return home to Bohemia. Not every journey ends with a homecoming though; the exiled BélaBartók knew he was dying as he wrote his Concerto for Orchestra. He responded with a roof-raising shout of joy. As Music Director of Opera North, Richard Farnes knows how to bring a musical drama to life, and with the superlative young American cellist Joshua Roman as soloist, he’ll make these masterpieces live and breathe. And what better opening than the woodland poetry of Janáček’s most life-affirming opera?

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room
Joshua Roman in conversation.

Post-Concert Coda (approximately 10 minutes after the main concert)
Joshua Roman gives a short solo recital.