Sibelius En Saga (c.19 mins)

James MacMillan Piano Concerto no.3

‘The Mysteries of Light’ (c.25 mins)

Shostakovich Symphony no.5 (c.46 mins)


Peter Donohoe piano

Martyn Brabbins conductor

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

When words fall silent, music speaks. Even today, it’s hard to tell whether Shostakovich’s mighty Fifth Symphony tells a story of triumph, of despair, or something far more complex. But one way or another, every performance hits home: and under the direction of Martyn Brabbins it will speak more eloquently – and passionately – than ever. James MacMillan’s deep personal faith inspired his Third Piano Concerto, but with notes taking the place of words, everyone’s free to find their own meaning in this fiercely beautiful spiritual testament. Peter Donohoe begins our cycle of MacMillan’s piano concertos – a wonderfully serene contrast to the stormy Nordic drama of Sibelius’s En Saga.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room

James MacMillan discusses his three piano concertos.

Post-Concert Coda (approximately 10 minutes after the main concert)

Peter Donohoe in the first of three recitals to complement each of the MacMillan piano concertos.