Nielsen Overture: Helios (c.12 mins)

Magnus Lindberg Violin Concerto (c.27 mins)

Dvořak Symphony no.9 ‘From the New World’ (c.40 mins)

PekkaKuusisto violin

Thomas Dausgaard conductor

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

There’s a magical connection between music and light. Nielsen felt it, and inspired by sunrises over the Aegean, his Helios Overture is a warm, glowing paean to the Greek god. Magnus Lindberg feels it too, and since its premiere in 2006 his luminous, lyrical Violin Concerto has become an instant modern classic, hailed by listeners and critics alike as the natural successor to Sibelius. PekkaKuusisto is the soloist, and his insight and inventiveness make him the ideal partner for popular BBC SSO guest conductor Thomas Dausgaard. BBC SSO regulars will know to expect freshness, fire and a few surprises in Dausgaard’s reading of Dvorák’s much-loved symphony ‘From the New World’.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room

Thomas Dausgaard in conversation.

Post-Concert Coda (approximately 10 minutes after the main concert)