Beethoven         Overture: Coriolan

Bruch                Violin Concerto No.2

________________________________ (c.20’)

Bruch                Konzertstück for violin and orchestra in F# minor

Tchaikovsky       Romeo and Juliet: overture-fantasia


Jack Liebeck violin

Martyn Brabbins conductor


Max Bruch is best known for two works he composed for violin and orchestra, the popular First Concerto and the Scottish Fantasia. Here, Jack Liebeck plays the Second Concerto which, like the Scottish Fantasia, was dedicated to the great Spanish violinist Pablo de Saraste.  The performance is complemented by a rare chance to hear the Konzertstück for violin and orchestra which Bruch composed more than thirty years later.  Martyn Brabbins brings the evening to a close with the lush sounds of Tchaikovsky’s Shakespearean fantasy overture: Romeo and Juliet.  The concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.


Tickets £10 in advance or £12 if bought on the day
All seating unreserved